It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? Is a meme sponsored by Sheila at Book Journey.  Kellee at Unleashing Readers and Jen at Teach Mentor Texts gave the meme a kidlit twist.  It’s a great way to reflect on what you’ve read and reviewed the last week and plan what you want to read next.  Join up with us and discover what good books other people  are reading.

image

Cold and snow haved filled this week here in southern Indiana. I’ve had lots of opportunity to shovel snow, but haven’t left the house much otherwise. I am thankful to have a warm, cozy home with plenty of hot soup and fresh-baked bread to eat through these cold winter days. Even though the roads outside are still icy and the winds are still howling from the Arctic, I look forward to traveling through more dusy, desert lands as I read this week.

I finished…

promised landThe Promised Land by Peter Danielson – Pepi, son of Neftis and Apedemek, has faithfully served as armorer for the Israelites, but now Caleb and Joshua turn against him. I’m sure it had nothing to do with Pepi’s criticism of Joshua’s bloodthirsty destruction. Meanwhile, Iri’s search for his wife Keturah and their son leads him to the shores of Troy–and a war that grinds on for years over a face deemed the most beautiful of women. I did not expect to sit at an inn having dinner with Odysseus and Iri, but I grew to like the reluctant hero–but not the arrogant Achilles or sneaky Paris. Iri also adopts a son, Phorbus, who is just as faithful as any Child of the Lion with a birthmark.

invadersThe Invaders – Tyrants rise and fall and allegiances switch. Pepi left the Israelites who drove him out and was determined to help their enemies. Disillusioned with the brutality of the new oppressors, he returns to help the Israelites when Deborah speaks the word of Yahweh to Barak and Yael. The Greeks still battle outside the walls of Troy until the wily Odyesseus can come up with a plan to end it once and for all. Even when tempted by the love of a beautiful woman, Phorbus remains faithfuil to his promise to rescue Keturah and her son Talus. Nimshi and Micah attempt to start a new life, but violence finds them in the desert. And finally, Luti, another daughter of the Lion, makes a desperate trek to bring back designs for a new chariot and save the people of Babylon. While the mighty empire of Khalkeus struggles, Theon travels the world looking for the lost Children of the Lion.

I’m reading…

trumpet and the swordThe Trumpet and the Sword by Peter Danielson – I just started Book XIV this morning. I can’t wait to find out what is in store for Luti and Talus and Micah and Nimshi and Theon.Even just a few chapters in, I’m astounded at the turns of fortune. Where will they all end up?

bird by birdBird by Bird by Anne Lamott – I know the first time I read this book, I devoured it quickly. This time I’m reading more slowly, chewing on the thoughts about life and writing. I have so much to learn, but I can enjoy it along the way!

by the bookBy the Book: Writers on Literature and the Literary Life from The New York TImes Book Review edited by Pamela Paul – This week I enjoyed interviews with Jeffrey Eugenides, JK Rowling, David Mitchell and John Grisham. My favorite question (when it is asked and answered) is “What were your favorite books as a child? Do you have a favorite characgter or hero from one of those books? Is there one book you wish all children would read?” I love it when an author shares one of my favorites from childhood, but I find the question very hard to narrow down to just one book.

Coming up…

Now that the end of the series is in sight, I suspect I will focus much of my reading energy on The Children of the Lion–just a handful of books to go. I will miss these characters once I’m done with the series. I am glad I was able to pass on the books I’ve read to a friend. I can’t wait to hear what she thinks about them! I’ll also continue enjoying interviews in By the Book and savoring the wisdom of Bird by Bird.

What have you read this week? Do you have any favorite books from childhood?

4 Comments on It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Myra from GatheringBooks
    February 25, 2015 at 10:55 pm (9 years ago)

    I’ve read a lot of great things about Anne Lamott’s writing – I hope I get to read one of her books this year.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 26, 2015 at 11:46 am (9 years ago)

      Bird by Bird is a great book that combines writing advice with stories from her life as a writer. I also really like Help Thanks Wow. I hope you get to enjoy one this year. It’s hard to find the time to read all the books I want to.

      Reply
  2. Ricki Ginsberg
    February 23, 2015 at 9:46 pm (9 years ago)

    “Is there one book you wish all children would read?”

    I don’t think I could answer that question! I guess my answer would be no, which would start a conversation, though! I am glad you are enjoying it. Good luck with the completion of the series!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 24, 2015 at 8:24 am (9 years ago)

      It also depends on the child. Different children need different books at different times. And there are so many good books, there is no way I could limit it to just one! Now, if someone wanted a list of books I love to share with children…

      Reply

Leave a Reply