January books read

I may not be breaking records for quantity, but I have sure enjoyed quality this month. I am loving the series The Children of the Lion by Peter Danielson. I’m not quite halfway through the series, and so far each book is better than the last. Several of the other books I read gave me much to think about. I starred my favorites!

  1. **I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai – inspiring and thought-provoking
  2. *Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout – Olive is a complex and fascinating woman, and Strout gives us glimpses of her through the stories of different townspeople, all who have their own secrets
  3. Lord of the Nile by Peter Danielson – another engrossing chapter in the story of the Children of the Lion
  4. How to Make Meetings Work by Michael Doyle and David Straus – dated, but still full of good information
  5. **Small Victories by Anne Lamott – a good travelling companion while I flew back home for my aunt’s funeral
  6. The Prophecy by Peter Danileson – Things are looking bad for the Children of the Lion and the descendents of Jacob in Egypt
  7. Cloaked by Alex Flynn – a romp through several fairy tales mashed together in south Florida
  8. Beastly: Lindy’s Diary – now that I’ve seen the movie and read the alternative point of view, I really should read the book that began it all
  9. *For One More Day by Mitch Albom – this slender volume is packed with things to think about
  10. Over and Under the Snow by Kate Messner, illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal – I enjoyed reading this one to my teen daughter
  11. Owl Moon by Jane Yolen, illustrated by John Schoenherr – another readaloud for my girl

What have you been reading this month?

Leave a Reply