It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? Is a meme sponsored by Sheila at Book Journey.  Kellee at Unleashing Readers and Jen at Teach Menor Texts gave the meme a kidlit twist.  It’s a great way to reflect on what you’ve read and reviewed the last week and plan what you want to read next.  Join up with us and discover what good books other people  are reading.

image

These are the books I’ve read over the past two weeks. I did not post last week thanks to jet lag. I had a great trip to the West Coast, flying into Fresno and then driving up to Yosemite to facilatate at a conference. We were there just long enough for the conference, but I wish I could go back to take in more of the beauty of that area. I had lots of time to read while waiting in airports and flying on planes. Thank goodness for my Kindle app since I had to travel light!

I finished…

the prophecyThe Prophecy by Peter Danileson – The approaching end of the rule of the Shepherd Kings over Egypt increases the danger and desperation of the Children of the Lion and the children of Jacob. Joseph had one last prophecy that foretold of a son rising against his father to destroy the Hai once and for all. Street children and slaves, Riki, Mara, and Neko have grown up to claim their destinies. Twins Teti and Ketan go their seperate ways, and Seth comes into his own. Meanwhile, battles and intrigue grow ever closer.

for one more dayFor One More Day by Mitch Albom – What difference would one day make if you could spend it with someone you had loved and lost? Charley Benetto, washed up ball player, tries to take his own life, but instead is given the gift of another day with his mother, who had died eight years earlier. As he spends an ordinary day with his mother one more time, he learns truths about his past and about himself that just might change the direction his future takes. This slender book gives much to think about.

cloakedCloaked by Alex Flynn – This is where I am thanful for my Kindle app. I finished the books I packed and wanted something light to read to finish up my flights. I found this one and jumped at the opportunity to reread (that way I wouldn’t be tempted to stay up late to finish something new). Flynn weaves together several lesser known fairytales against a modern backdrop of south Florida. An unsuspecting boy who repairs shoes in his family business finds himself searching for the lost brother (in frog form) of a princess. Along the way he meets a plethora of talking animals–swans, foxes, rats–and slays a couple of giants to boot. Of course, he must also outwit an evil witch and just maybe discover true love.

beastly lindys diaryBeastly: Lindy’s Diary by Alex Flynn – another save from the Kindle. My daughter loves Beastly. I’ve watched the movie with her (she hates it) and now have read the alternative point of view novel (this one). I really need to borrow her copy of the original to read the book that started it all.

over and under the snowOver and Under the Snow by Kate Messner, illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal – So far this winter the snow has missed us. I wouldn’t mind just a little snow to play in, so I chose this one to read to my daughter when she asked for a bedtime story. (I’m loving that my high school junior wants me to read to her. I’m trying not to think about how much I’m going to miss her in a little over a year.) I love the quiet illustrations and descriptions of winter life.

owl moonOwl Moon by Jane Yolen, illustrated by John Schoenherr – Another snowy book to read for a bedtime story. Now I want to bundle up and go owling myself, but who will call the owls for me? I came close driving home from the airport early in the morningas an owl of some sort swooped in front of my car.

I’m currently reading…

by the bookBy the Book: Writers on Literature and the LIterary Life from The New York Times Book Review edited by Pamela Paul – I read just a few more these two weeks. My favorite answers were from Joyce Carol Oates. I can relate to her answer of when and where she lies to read–anywhere! Me, too. I’ve definitely been caught sneaking a few pages while waiting on hold, too.

elements of styleElements of Style by William Strunk and EB White – I’ve almost finished this one. I ran out of brain power with the jet lag. It is also one of those books that I like to read in small chunks so I can chew on the nuggets of wisdom shared.

sword of glorySword of Glory by Peter Danielson – I am still loving this series now that I am nearly halfway through with it. Things are going from bad to worse for everyone. Kamose (sometimes called Neko) has joined a cult and its evil is infecting the Egyptian army. Even if he does fulfill the prophecy and defeats Apophis and the Hia, his rule may be even worse. Riki cannot bear his grief at Teti’s death. Seth sets out on a journey to discover the secret of the Children of the Lion. What he learns may prove too great of a temptation for him to return with the promised sword of glory.

new geography of jobsThe New Geography of Jobs by Enrico Moretti – Just a year ago, I never would have guessed that I would be reading–and enjoying–a book on economics. I find Moretti’s description of the changes in our economy to be fascinating if somewhat depressing since I live in an area that is not near the hubs that drive the new economy. He describes the divergence of fortunes (measured in different ways) of places that have prospered from the increase of technology and innovation and of those that have declined without it.

Coming up…

I think it’s obvious by now that I will be continuing the saga of The Children of the Lion. I’m excited because Moses is coming up next in the series. Most of this week will be finishing up the books I’m currently reading. I also hope to start the Barbara Brown Taylor book I got for Christmas and catch up on reviewing the books piling up around the house!

What have you been reading this week?

Leave a Reply