It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? Is a meme sponsored by Sheila at Book Journey.  Kellee at Unleashing Readers and Jen at Teach Menor Texts gave the meme a kidlit twist.  It’s a great way to reflect on what you’ve read and reviewed the last week and plan what you want to read next.  Join up with us and discover what good books other people  are reading.

image

I woke up this morning to our first snowfall. Even though many neighbors are complaining about the too early start to winter, I can’t help but revel in the beauty. Every leaf and branch is painted with soft, wet snow. Everything blurred as snowflakes still swirl thorugh the morning light. After I drop the kids off at school, I’ll put another book on my iPod and head out to clear the driveways of snow. Yes, I even enjoy the shoveling! then I can warm up with soup and grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch and help my husband with butchering the four deer he shot over the weekend. Now, on to the books!

I finished….

branding only works on cattleBranding Only Works on Cattle: the New Way to Get Known (and drive your competitors crazy) by Jonathan Salem BAskin – I’m not from the world of marketing, but I think a lot of what Baskin says makes sense. He claims that developing a brand that is just a pretty idea–no matter how amazing–seperated from action is a waste of money. Instead, a company’s brand needs to be rooted in action:  both prompting action from the customer along the sales funnel and tied to all the actions of the company. A pretty idea doesn’t do much to support a business if customer service or supply chain processes or even payroll and personnel processes don’t support the customer in making a purchase. From a customer standpoint, it makes sense. It doesn’t matter how clever an ad is if I have a lousy experience with the company or product.

I am having so much fun with reading picture books this month. Last week I shared the first ten picture books I read in two posts: The Picture Books Are Coming and More Picture Books Are Coming. I made another trip to the children’s room at the library and read ten more. Come back later in the week to discover more about these gems:

  • The Little Drummer Mouse by Mercer Mayer
  • Jazz by Walter Dean Myers and illustrated by Christopher Myers
  • Canoe Days by Gary Paulsen and illustrated by Ruth Wright Paulsen
  • The Butterfly by Patricai Polocca
  • The Light of the World by Katherine Paterson and illustrated by Francois Roca
  • If You Give a Cat a Cupcake by Laura Numeroff and illustrated by Felcia Bond
  • Chester Raccoon and the Big Bad Bully by Audery Penn and illustrated by Barbara L. Gibson
  • The Boy Who Was Raised by Librarians by Carla Morris and illustrated by Brad Sneed
  • The Case of the Incapaciated Capitals by Robin Pulver and illustrated by Lynn Rowe Reed
  • The Pirate’s Guide to Recess by James Preller and illustrated by Greg Ruth

I’m reading…

les-miserablesLes Miserables by Victor Hugo – I only made it to 92% this week. Marius is saved, recovered and reunited with both Cosette and his grandfather. I’ve slowed down because it’s just a lot of lovesick giddiness going around. I’m not sure who is the giddiest–Marius and Cossette (as the gaze adoringly into each other’s eyes and say not much of anything) or the grandfather (who showers Cosettte with gifts and plans an elaborate wedding).

summer of letting goThe Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner – We’re at the point where my daughter begs for more when I get to the end of the chapter. We’re also at the part where I can’t read without weeping. Let’s just say I’m putting lots of emotion into reading aloud. So far I haven’t completely embarrassed myself, but I can’t help but give in to the strong emotions evoked through these chapters.

freelancers bibleThe Freelancers’s Bible by Sara Horowitz – This is an invaluable resource for everything freelancers need to consider. Did you know that up to a third of the workforce today is considered a freelancer/independent contractor/temp worker? It seems like I’m in good company.

girl who circumnavigated fairylandThe Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M.Valente – For some reason, this book slipped to the bottom of my TBR pile. My only regret is that I didn’t read it sooner. I am captivated by every page.

Coming up…

I will definitely be off to explore more picture books. I hope to finish two of the novels I’m currently reading and make more progress on Les Mis. I can finish this! I’m also headed off to see what audio book I want to start next. I still have some that I downloaded from the Sync YA website over the summer.

13 Comments on It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Myra from GatheringBooks
    November 27, 2014 at 4:54 pm (9 years ago)

    Glad to hear about your thoughts on Valente’s Fairyland. We just watched Les Miserables on Broadway a week ago! We were totally smitten. My daughter and I cried copious tears.

    Reply
  2. Ricki Ginsberg
    November 18, 2014 at 1:42 am (9 years ago)

    My sister would love Branding Only Works on Cattle. Thank you for sharing it! I will have to get it for her. I hope you have a terrific week! 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 18, 2014 at 9:06 am (9 years ago)

      The branding book was really thought-provoking. I hope your sister enjoys it.

      Reply
  3. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)
    November 17, 2014 at 10:35 pm (9 years ago)

    Can’t wait to learn more about those picture books you read. Some of them I’ve read, but others are new to me.
    Still taunting me with Summer–I so need to pick it up.
    Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the Valente book.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 18, 2014 at 9:05 am (9 years ago)

      Some were by authors that my daughter & I loved when she was little. Others just caught my eye as I browsed the shelf. So far, I am loving the Valente book. I could copy down quote after quote from it!

      Reply
  4. Michele
    November 17, 2014 at 8:40 pm (9 years ago)

    I loved The Summer of Letting Go too! That’s great you’re reading it with your daughter.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 18, 2014 at 9:04 am (9 years ago)

      It’s even better this second time through. I am savoring each chapter rather than rushing through to see what happens next.

      Reply
  5. Elizabeth (Silver's Reviews)
    November 17, 2014 at 4:20 pm (9 years ago)

    Nice week for you. I hope the upcoming week is just as good.

    ENJOY all your books and reading.

    Nice blog.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 17, 2014 at 4:41 pm (9 years ago)

      Thanks! I am having so much fun with the picture books.

      Reply
  6. Jenny @Juliababyjen's Reading Room
    November 17, 2014 at 10:30 am (9 years ago)

    That Fairyland book looks really good, I’ll have to check it out!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 17, 2014 at 4:40 pm (9 years ago)

      It is! And even better, it’s the first book in a series, so I have more to look forward to.

      Reply
  7. Laura Pol
    November 17, 2014 at 9:46 am (9 years ago)

    Looks like a great reading list this week! Hope you enjoy all of them! 🙂

    Here’s my Monday!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 17, 2014 at 4:40 pm (9 years ago)

      So far I am enjoying them!

      Reply

Leave a Reply