Come visit our Little Free Library!

imageI’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by  Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

It all started with the snow that overwhelmed us this past winter.  My husband looked at the unused basketball goal in our driveway and suggested that he build a birdhouse to fit between the posts.

“I’ve got a better idea,” I responded.  “Look at these.”  I pulled up the website for Little Free Library.  “Would you build me a library instead?”

I couldn’t believe it when he said yes.  Then came months of discussion.  He thought the books should be in a waterproof plastic container inside the house.  I said no containers.  The library needs a glass door so people can see the books.

I know with my students, they are much more likely to pick up a book to read if it’s easy to pick up.  They are more likely to read from my classroom library than the school library.  They are more likely to pick up a book that has the cover facing out on the chalk tray or book stand than they are to pick one up from all the titles standing on the shelves with just the spine out.

Once spring arrived, my husband started building.  He created a little library with three shelves out of spare material he had lying around.  The wood is wrapped in water-proof cloth. The roof has shingles.  Cedar siding warps around three sides.  The door does indeed have a full glass window so everyone can see the books.  I was responsible for painting the inside.  White reflects light from the ceiling and two walls.  Turquoise pops along the back wall and shelves–at least what you can see around the books.

I am also responsible for filling the shelves with books.  I’ve been hitting up yard sales and thrift stores.  As I’ve told people about the Little Free Library, several have offered donations of books for it.  Two overflowing boxes sit behind me waiting for books to be taken so I have room to add them to the shelves.  My husband’s comment:  “I thought this library was going to get rid of books in our house, not multiply them.”

IMG_20140614_111235646

IMG_20140609_172802277

IMG_20140609_172622989

Now that the library was built and officially registered, it was time to spread the news.  We copied a flyer and set off Saturday afternoon around the neighborhood.  We live in a rural neighborhood, so it is two miles around the “block,” and that doesn’t include heading back long drives shared by multiple houses.  Thank goodness for the four wheeler.  On some of the houses we just left a flyer stuck in the door, but if people were home, we stopped to tell them about it.  What were the reactions?

  • Most people were quite excited about it–especially those with kids.
  • Some people offered donations of books.  I explained that they were encouraged to trade out as many books as they wanted.  The whole concept is “Take a book, leave a book.”  I can’t wait to see what comes in.
  • A few people gave me strange–or maybe it was just confused–looks.  But they thanked us anyway.
  • One person asked when the block party was.  It’s Friday night!  We plan to have refreshments for our grand opening!
  • Only one person had a negative comment–and he even thought his grandkids would like it.  He would like it if we’d keep the grandkids for a while.  No.

Now the library has been built, the shelves have been filled, and the invitations have been sent.  Now all that’s left is to see who will come to the party.  I hope the whole neighborhood will.

 

The new Slam Dunk Books Little Free Library 15682.

The new Slam Dunk Books Little Free Library 15682.

11 Comments on Come visit our Little Free Library!

  1. Chris
    June 17, 2014 at 10:43 pm (10 years ago)

    Hooray for Little Free Libraries! I very much want to build one this summer. Hoping to convince the hubby or make one for the schoolyard!

    Reply
    • Kay McGriff
      June 19, 2014 at 7:50 pm (10 years ago)

      Good luck with building your own Little Free Library. The schoolyard would be a great place for one.

      Reply
  2. Stacey
    June 17, 2014 at 4:06 pm (10 years ago)

    I’m heading over to http://littlefreelibrary.org/ to sign up for this. I’ve been wondering how these spring up. Thanks to you, I now know!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 17, 2014 at 7:51 pm (10 years ago)

      Yea for another LFL! It’s such a great idea, and my husband did the hardest part of building it.

      Reply
  3. chrisleish
    June 17, 2014 at 11:37 am (10 years ago)

    There is a Little Free Library in our neighborhood, but I had no idea it was part of something larger- a movement. Thank you so much for the link, and while I can’t afford one of their kits, I am hopeful it will inspire my hubby as well. (I’m gonna have to wait a little while because he is still finishing up the new bookcases for my classroom…:)
    I think I will “plant” mine outside my classroom to build a school community of readers. Love following your blog; you are a constant source of inspiration and learning.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 17, 2014 at 1:07 pm (10 years ago)

      Wow! Our LFL is the first in the entire county and the surrounding counties. The kits are pricey. I’m glad my husband is talented enough to build it from scrap material. He also built bookshelves from my room. Thanks for the kind words about my blog. I’m glad you like it.

      Reply
  4. Holly Mueller
    June 17, 2014 at 11:15 am (10 years ago)

    That’s SO, SO wonderful! I want one, too. Our neighborhood has tons of kids, so I think it would go over great. Now, to get my husband to build it….

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 17, 2014 at 1:03 pm (10 years ago)

      Aren’t husbands wonderful? I was so excited when he offered to build it. It would have been beyond my skills.

      Reply
  5. Donna Smith
    June 17, 2014 at 10:15 am (10 years ago)

    I have been thinking about doing this in our neighborhood also. It seems like a great thing to have available and a fun adventure!
    …time break… Just signed up for our own library at long last! Thanks for the reminder and push! Yea!

    Reply
    • Donna Smith
      June 17, 2014 at 10:16 am (10 years ago)

      mainelywrite.blogspot.com

      Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 17, 2014 at 10:17 am (10 years ago)

      Yea! I’m glad you signed up, too. I am beyond giddy about ours. This morning when I checked, there were books missing! Someone has been coming to get books to read. I can’t wait until the grand opening Friday night. I suspect I might write about it next week!

      Reply

Leave a Reply