How to Sneak a Book

imageI’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by  Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

I should have been suspicious when the girl offered to take my mug back to the car for me.  Yes, she does have a generous spirit, but most Sundays she is much more eager to get to the hot chocolate and cookies waiting outside the sanctuary than doing errands for me.

A little while later I glanced back at her perch in the sound booth.  She was hunched over, looking at something intently.  Whatever it was, it was hidden behind the cabinet surrounding the controls.  Suddenly, I remembered what she had hidden in her purse as we left home.  I walked back and peered over the edge of the sound booth to see the open pages of Divergent.  “Now I know why you offered to take my mug back to the car.  Do I need to confiscate it before church starts?”

She grinned back at me.  “I promise to close it when the service starts.”

And she did.  I guess she takes after her mother after all.  It’s not the first time I’ve found her with a hidden book–whether it’s tucked under a pillow or stuffed inside a coat–many times.  It’s a good thing I know all the tricks since I did them first.

8 Comments on How to Sneak a Book

  1. Carolyn Carr
    March 23, 2014 at 11:56 pm (10 years ago)

    I love it! That was so totally me as a kid. I do a lot of reading on my iPad now and often find myself sneaking my book open. And I’ve re-read Divergent 4 times, so I can totally see why she is so engrossed.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 24, 2014 at 7:11 am (10 years ago)

      She complains that she can’t sneak books because I already know all the tricks!

      Reply
  2. nf
    March 23, 2014 at 10:33 pm (10 years ago)

    It’s tough to be “the mom” in these situations, especially when you just want to fill up that mug and join her… Hope you’ve read that one, it’s a page turner!!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 24, 2014 at 7:11 am (10 years ago)

      I read it and then handed it to her. SHe’s ready for book two, and I’m starting the third one this morning.

      Reply
  3. chrisleish
    March 23, 2014 at 9:54 pm (10 years ago)

    Out of my three boys only one of them has my “bug”. It is such a pleasure to share our passion. He has just given me a thick, juicy hardback, that he recently finished, for my spring break next week.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 24, 2014 at 7:10 am (10 years ago)

      I love sharing books with the girl. I’m rushing to finish the rest of the series because she’s begging me to read so she can read them.

      Reply
  4. elsie
    March 23, 2014 at 9:03 pm (10 years ago)

    Don’t you wish all kids had that kind of drive to read?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 23, 2014 at 9:18 pm (10 years ago)

      I do my best to encourage it in my students!

      Reply

Leave a Reply