Case of the Missing Sequels

imageI’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by  Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

 

I shooed the last students from my room

and raced to the library

in a desperate search

for a missing book.

Destiny said the single copy should be on the shelf,

but no matter how many times I raked

my eyes back and forth across the books

standing tall and straight on every shelf,

this title did not appear.

Next I hunted through the display case

when a glimpse of yellow and black

gave a glimmer of hope,

but the historical fiction tome

would not replace the dark and twisted–

and downright funny–fantasy I needed.

Just as I was about to give up hope,

I spied a different missing book

that had proved as elusive as the killer

lurking within its pages.

I snagged it from the shelf

and delivered it to an unexpecting student

who had never given up the longing

to read how the sequel spun its tale

while breaking bad news to another

that another sequel went missing.

4 Comments on Case of the Missing Sequels

  1. Sarah Parker
    March 20, 2014 at 8:33 pm (10 years ago)

    The missing book that proved as elusive as the killer within its pages. Nice images during the moment of frenzy in the library. I raced through the poem with the main character.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 20, 2014 at 8:48 pm (10 years ago)

      Thanks! That particular book (GAME by Barry Lyga) has been missing since October. I hope IN A GLASS GRIMMLY finds its way back a little sooner.

      Reply
  2. Melanie Meehan
    March 20, 2014 at 8:08 pm (10 years ago)

    Love the lines, “I raked
    my eyes back and forth across the books
    standing tall and straight on every shelf.” Also love how you capture the frustration of not finding the book that you want in a poem!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 20, 2014 at 8:48 pm (10 years ago)

      Thanks! And the book I couldn’t find was for a student who has not found many books he liked this year. I so wanted to find it for him.

      Reply

Leave a Reply