Found Poetry

imageI’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by  Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

Poetry lurks in the most unexpected places.  Today my students went on a search for some found poetry among the books on my bookshelves to create book spine poetry.  I was amazed at the thinking going on as my students worked to put together book titles in surprising ways that still made sense.  We also got to practice revisions when students brought a stack of books that didn’t make sense when we read the titles together.

I did this activity last year and created a photo gallery of their poems.  This year, I selected my favorites to create a movie.  I had to leave out some of my favorites because iMovie cut off the top or bottom book when I placed the photo.  I’ll display some of those around school for us to enjoy.

)

6 Comments on Found Poetry

  1. Lee Ann Spillane
    March 11, 2014 at 7:50 pm (10 years ago)

    I love spine poetry. Last year a few teachers at my school photographed spine poems their students created and hung them in classroom windows. So neat to read them on the walk to my room.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 11, 2014 at 8:41 pm (10 years ago)

      I plan on printing some of them, too, to put on a bullentin board by the main office. The English department is responsible for the month of April. These will be great for poetry month!

      Reply
  2. Leigh Anne
    March 11, 2014 at 6:41 pm (10 years ago)

    These are great. I have seen these on many slices throughout the year. I may need to try this. I think my students would love this too.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 11, 2014 at 7:22 pm (10 years ago)

      My students enjoyed this today–and last year. They don’t realize just how much thinking they have to do to create a good poem from someone else’s words.

      Reply
  3. Margaret Simon
    March 11, 2014 at 5:34 pm (10 years ago)

    Love this! Thanks for sharing. I need suggestions for making my Cento poem lesson work better. Last year, the kids just made a mess, piling on tons of books and the poems made little or no sense. How did you get them to really think poetry? Do you mind going to my blog to answer? Thanks!

    http://reflectionsontheteche.wordpress.com/

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 11, 2014 at 6:33 pm (10 years ago)

      Thanks, Margaret. I’ll drop by your blog and share what hints I have. Not all of their creations made sense. I picked the best ones for the video.

      Reply

Leave a Reply