Literary Selfies

 

image

 

I’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by  Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

I have never quite understood the whole concept of selfies, but my world is filled with them.  My teenage daughter sometimes shares the selfies she and her friends take and send to each other.  (At least most of them disappear thanks to SnapChat.)  My Facebook feed is filled with selfies from a variety of young friends.  One of the girls in my Sunday School class did a study of selfies by taking a different one every day of summer vacation.  Of course, if my students have time with a picture-taking device, they start snapping away.

Since I certainly can’t do away with the trend, I thought I might have some fun with a new style of selfie–the literary selfie.  Since the postal service was kind enough to deliver a new box of books to my house last night, I decided to try out a few with the latest books that have landed atop my TBR pile.

Marissa Meyer’s THE LUNAR CHRONICLES have been very popular in my room this year.  The third installment, Cress was released last week.  Now I can show my students who are clamoring for it that I am reading it first!

lit selfie cress

I have a feeling that Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl was be up next.

lit selfie fangirl

And in honor of Black History Month this month, I have a collection of poems honoring civil rights activists in When Thunder Comes by J. Patrick Lewis.

 lit selfie thunder

I will be ready to teach nonfiction writing when I finish Finding the Heart of Nonfiction by Georgia Heard.

lit selfie nonfiction

These are some selfies I could have some fun with!  I’m imagining costumes and props and settings!  What will your literary selfies look like?

8 Comments on Literary Selfies

  1. Ramona
    February 11, 2014 at 11:43 pm (10 years ago)

    Loved seeing the new books from your box. Maybe I’ll see if my students want to take selfies with books they want to read. We could do it in the library. The new Georgia Heard book is on my wish list.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 12, 2014 at 7:25 am (10 years ago)

      Yes, the next step is to let my students have a try.

      Reply
  2. Jone
    February 11, 2014 at 10:41 pm (10 years ago)

    Very fun! And a great idea for those days when I’m stuck!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 12, 2014 at 7:22 am (10 years ago)

      ThanksI i’m glad you enjoyed them.

      Reply
  3. Tara
    February 11, 2014 at 9:43 pm (10 years ago)

    Oh, these were fun! My students have tried to teach me the art of the selfie…but so far, no luck!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 11, 2014 at 10:05 pm (10 years ago)

      These were fun to take–much more so than the ones I see my students do. I just learned it’s already on Twitter as #shelfie !

      Reply
  4. Margaret Simon
    February 11, 2014 at 9:24 pm (10 years ago)

    What fun to turn a fad toward the literary! I think I’ll add my selfie with the two latest signed author books I’ve gotten, Nikki Grimes Word with Wings, and Crystal Chan’s Bird.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 11, 2014 at 9:32 pm (10 years ago)

      I would love to see them! I hope it’s a twist on the fad that takes off, but my daughter says “No way.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply