Let the Music Roar

IMG_20131212_184031_946For the past several years I’ve had a few lonely items on my Christmas list that no one seems to want to get me.  Some of those lonely items were were cds by Trans Siberian Orchestra.  I had listened to clips of their music and loved the fusion of classical pieces with rock-n-roll.  Finally, someone heard my wishes.  My brother-in-law and sister-in-law went above and beyond a piece of plastic cd and gave me and my daughter tickets to a live show.

My daughter and I were beyond excited as we drove to the arena last Thursday, but neither one of us had any clue what an experience we were in for that evening.  If you have never heard Trans-Siberian Orchestra, they combine classical music with a decidedly rock flavor. Yes, there are violins and cellos in the orchestra, but they round out the musicians with electric guitars, electric basses, an electric violin, the most amazing vocalists I have ever heard, and the largest drum set I’ve ever seen.  Don’t forget the two dueling keyboardists as well.  The bass is loud enough to thump down deep in my chest (and we were in the top rows of the balcony).  The electric violinist didn’t miss a note even when galloping across the stage or leaping down a flight of stairs.  And the stage show is a little more than your typical orchestra–laser lights and flames pulse to the beat with nonstop intensity.

I expected most of that.  What I didn’t expect was the poetry that wove the songs together into a story of a little girl, a grieving father, and a forgiving son.  As the snow falls through the evening, music brings hope on Christmas Eve.

This is one Christmas experience that I would like to make a new tradition.

image

 

I’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by  Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

12 Comments on Let the Music Roar

  1. Elsie
    December 17, 2013 at 9:40 pm (10 years ago)

    I LOVE TSO! I have been to the show many times in three different cities. It is so hard to explain the show to those who haven’t been. Did you get a CD yet?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 17, 2013 at 9:45 pm (10 years ago)

      Yes! We got the Night Castle cd on the recommendation of one of the other many fans who happened to walk by as we were deciding. I was excited to see on their website that they hope to create a stage show/tour for it as well.

      Reply
  2. Bonnie K
    December 17, 2013 at 3:16 pm (10 years ago)

    I know them well but it was so wonderful to have you make sense of a great musical event. Thanks
    Bonnie

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 17, 2013 at 8:46 pm (10 years ago)

      When I was talking about it with my daughter on the way home, she said it would be impossible to capture the experience in words. She may be right, but I sure wanted to try.

      Reply
  3. Tara
    December 17, 2013 at 12:18 pm (10 years ago)

    They sound like amazing musicians, and amazing athletes, too! What fun!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 17, 2013 at 1:48 pm (10 years ago)

      It was so much fun! I hope we can do it again.

      Reply
  4. Dana Murphy
    December 17, 2013 at 11:42 am (10 years ago)

    This sounds like an amazing experience! I’m so glad you finally got your wish – well, more than your wish! I do hope you make it a tradition.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 17, 2013 at 1:48 pm (10 years ago)

      I do hope it becomes a tradition even though the website says it is their final tour for this show. I hope they come up with new one for next year.

      Reply
  5. Melanie Meehan
    December 17, 2013 at 9:26 am (10 years ago)

    I’m googling to see some clips of the Trans Siberian Orchestra–we have a snow day so it’s a perfect day for me to do this. We went to see Straight No Chaser. I think that you would enjoy this group, as well, although very different.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 17, 2013 at 1:49 pm (10 years ago)

      I shared clips with my students the day after the concert. They are fun, but don’t come anywhere near the actual experience. Enjoy your snow day!

      Reply
  6. Holly Mueller
    December 17, 2013 at 8:01 am (10 years ago)

    My daughter and her boyfriend have gone the last couple of year, and they really enjoy it!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 17, 2013 at 8:39 am (10 years ago)

      It’s an amazing show!

      Reply

Leave a Reply