A Celebration of Music

I slid into the pew of a new church Sunday afternoon and glanced around.  Greenery and candles and a nativity celebrated the coming Christmas season, but my eyes kept returning to the grand piano cased in dark walnut wood.  The ivory and ebony keys waited patiently for the sometimes trembling fingers that would soon show off the hard work of practice and lessons the past few months.

As I listened to the parade of students celebrating their mastery of Christmas songs and carols, I couldn’t help but make connections with the work of writers in my classroom. Not many people can sit down and play a new piece of sheet music without practicing first.  Likewise, good writing also takes practice.  Both music and writing deserve celebrating when the practice and hard work are done.  And I suspect both musicians and writers are nervous when they share their performance and final drafts.

The younger (and new) students played simple pieces where one had picked out the familiar melody and the second hand occasionally played a chord in harmony.  For many of the pieces, the music teacher sat beside the pianist and even played duets.  For those students who played solo, the teacher was nearby offering support by turning pages of music or giving encouragement and praise.  As students advanced in age and experience, the music became more complex.  I know from listening to my daughter that hours of practice went into each song.  During practice there were plenty of false starts, hesitations, do-overs, and repetition.  (I am hearing some of that practice now as I type. Now that one recital is over, she is already practicing new music.)

These are the same things I want to provide for my students.  Some of them I have been giving.  Others I want to improve.  I want to write beside my students just as the music teacher sat beside and played with her students.  I want to give my students writing opportunities that match where they are while pushing them to learn more.  I want my students to feel safe while practicing their writing–free to explore false-starts and do-overs and even repetition.  Even more, I want to take more time to celebrate what each of my students have learned on their journey through literacy.

image

 

I’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by  Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

6 Comments on A Celebration of Music

  1. LInda Baie
    December 10, 2013 at 11:31 pm (10 years ago)

    It’s an apt comparison, I agree, Kay, and wonderful to see you’re thinking about it. Have you seen Ruth Ayres new book by Stenhouse, Celebrating Writers? It may be just what you’re searching for. Have fun!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 11, 2013 at 6:47 am (10 years ago)

      Linda, I’ve seen it reviewed, but I don’t have it yet. It definitely looks worth finding!

      Reply
  2. Jaana
    December 10, 2013 at 9:29 pm (10 years ago)

    “I want to take more time to celebrate what each of my students have learned on their journey through literacy.” This last line really hit home for me. I need to find a way to celebrate my young ESL writers more often! Thanks!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 11, 2013 at 6:47 am (10 years ago)

      Thanks, Jaana. Even though I know how important it is to celebrate, I find it hard to take time to do it.

      Reply
  3. elsie
    December 10, 2013 at 12:23 pm (10 years ago)

    I love the comparison of the the musicians and writers. Too often the perception is writing doesn’t take practice and have false starts. Everything takes time and practice, if you are going to be good at it. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      December 10, 2013 at 2:11 pm (10 years ago)

      Thanks, Elsie. I think so many times people confuse talent (in either music or writing or other things) with the results of hard work and a willingness to practice and sometimes fail.

      Reply

Leave a Reply