You Enter a Discussion…

Yesterday, I introduced my students to their first literature circle experience.  We read, took notes on, and discussed two of my favorite poems–both about reading poems.  First I modeled my reading and thinking with Eve Merriman’s “How to Eat a Poem.”  After students had a chance to write their own thoughts and questions about the poem, we used their comments as the starting point of our discussion.

Then it was their turn to read and think about Robin Hirsch’s “You Enter a Poem.”  (If you haven’t read these poems, definitely click on over and read them.  I’ll wait.)  I love watching my students react to this poem:  Why is this poem about a bathroom?  What kind of bathroom has a sofa in it?  I just tell them, “That’s a great question.  Write it down to share in your discussion.”  A few students get it, but most are so blown away by the bathroom that they have to work to figure it out.  And as they talk together and go back to reread the poem, they do figure it out.  I love seeing the light bulbs come on once they figure out what the poem says.

Today students got to read a longer text, “Amigo Brothers” by Prir Thomas.  This story has a little bit for everyone–lots of boxing action and competition between friends.  I underestimated how long it would take students to read the story, so most will be finishing it tomorrow.  I could tell when someone did finish the story because they invariably protested out loud about it.  It’s one of those endings that drive me crazy, but I bet they have lots to say about it in their discussions.  Based on the questions and comments I saw students write today, I can’t wait to hear their conversations about the story.

My favorite moment of the day came from one of my students who reads aloud quite fluently, but struggles with comprehension.  The student motioned me over and said as she pointed at her notes, “This is really working for me.  I should try this when I read all the time.”  Yes!  Many of my students are making the connection between reading and thinking as the prepare for discussions and then talk about what they are reading.

I’m revising tomorrow’s lesson to build on what we did and need to finish from today.  We’ll be talking about what kind of questions lead to the most interesting conversations.

image

 

I’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by  Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

10 Comments on You Enter a Discussion…

  1. JenniferM
    November 5, 2013 at 10:30 pm (10 years ago)

    Wow… How have I never heard of “You Enter a Poem”?!?! What a wonderful way to spark discussion on how genre conventions can help readers! I’m so glad you shared!
    (By the way, my students are also working on writing their thoughts about their reading!)

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 5, 2013 at 10:31 pm (10 years ago)

      It is such a fun poem to read–and watch their reactions when they first read it!

      Reply
  2. Dana Murphy
    November 5, 2013 at 6:34 pm (10 years ago)

    I always loved those “lightbulb” moments when I was in the classroom, too. I’m so glad you’re introducing them to challenging poems and allowing them to make meaning on their own. Nice!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 5, 2013 at 8:16 pm (10 years ago)

      Thanks! These are two of my favorite poems, too.

      Reply
  3. Jane Martyn
    November 5, 2013 at 6:24 pm (10 years ago)

    Thanks for this slice! It’s always inspiring to hear stories about kids learning to love to think about literature.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 5, 2013 at 8:16 pm (10 years ago)

      I hope to keep it going through the entire year!

      Reply
  4. elsie
    November 5, 2013 at 5:55 pm (10 years ago)

    It sounds like your kids are traveling down a great road of literacy. I love the Aha! moments when kids get it. Thanks for the You Enter a Poem link, that is a perfect example of close reading. You only notice the details when you are familiar and you’ve been there before.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 5, 2013 at 8:17 pm (10 years ago)

      Even better is when the kids realize that they are doing–and succeeding at–what the poem asks!

      Reply
  5. Holly Mueller
    November 5, 2013 at 5:40 pm (10 years ago)

    Those moments when students say something is working for them are the moments we live for, aren’t they?! I enjoyed your Slice!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 5, 2013 at 8:17 pm (10 years ago)

      This moment will keep me going through the entire week!

      Reply

Leave a Reply