Bring on the pumpkins!

I have a confession to make.  We haven’t carved a pumpkin into a jack o’lantern at my house in years.  Even when we did carve them, our creations never moved much beyond a toothy grin and a couple of triangle eyes.  Instead of carving pumpkins last night, we went to visit a giant display of carved pumpkins that boggle the eye.  Just getting to the pumpkin display is an adventure as it involves turning down many back country roads in the dark.  I’m just glad my husband knew the general direction to get us close enough to the pumpkin signs with arrows pointing the next turn.

How do you even begin to describe the sight of a couple of hundred (more or less) jack o’lanterns stacked on three wagons and trailing across the front porch and around the wall?  We saw monsters and minions (yes, Dru was there, too), black cats and zombies, country churches and woodland scenes.  Some had intricate designs scraped into the skin.  There is even a graveyard with funny epitaphs on the tombstones.

Since there is no way to describe the sight in anything less than thousands of words, I’ll leave you with a gallery of my favorite pictures:

 

I’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

6 Comments on Bring on the pumpkins!

  1. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    November 3, 2013 at 3:57 pm (10 years ago)

    How cool! We have a local event that showcases amazing pumpkins. I don’t get to go every year, but I’m always in awe of the artistry.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      November 3, 2013 at 9:09 pm (10 years ago)

      We miss some years, too, but it is impressive to see what some people can do with a humble pumpkin, a pattern or two and some carving tools. One year I’d love to get brave enough to volunteer to carve!

      Reply
  2. Jaana
    October 29, 2013 at 9:36 pm (10 years ago)

    I am not sure if I have ever carved a pumpkin. Pictures and observations are a whole lot less messy!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 29, 2013 at 9:37 pm (10 years ago)

      The best part was the year we got to watch people carve! When the weather is warmer, they have to continuously carve new ones to replace ones that rot.

      Reply
  3. elsie
    October 29, 2013 at 8:23 pm (10 years ago)

    Some people are pumpkin artists, I am not. I appreciate the talent of others, even pictures of pumpkins. What a sight this must have been!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      October 29, 2013 at 9:37 pm (10 years ago)

      It is quite a sight! Now that we gave up pumpkin carving on our own, we make it a tradition to go see theirs! One year we got to visit in the barn where volunteers were carving them and explained the process they used.

      Reply

Leave a Reply