We’re off and reading!

After reading Donalyn Miller’s The Book Whisperer, I have challenged my students to read 40 books during the school year.  At first they are shocked. They swear it is impossible.  Then they start looking for their first book, and I look forward to hearing their excitement in the mornings and throughout passing periods as they come up to me and exclaim, “Can you believe what happened in the chapter I read last night?”  I just smile and tell them that my  plan for world domination is for them fall in love with books and reading.

One way I celebrate all we read is by simply counting up all the books we have all read and share the totals.  When we put it all together, we are some impressive readers.  Some of my students are finishing their first book.  Others have sped through my collection of graphic novels.  We have read picture books, novels, and informational texts.  I celebrate all the books we read, and here are our first results.

  • 1st Period:  24 students have read 52 books.  That’s an average of 2.2 books per student.
  • 2nd Period:  20 students have read 45 books.  That’s an average of 2.3 books per student.
  • 3rd Period:  20 students have read 56books.  That’s an average of 2.8 books per student.
  • 4th Period:  19 students have read 54 books.  That’s an average of 2.8 books per student.
  • 6th Period:  20 students have read 50 books.  That’s an average of 2.5 books per student.
  • 7th Period:  15 students have read 20 books.  That’s an average of 1.3 books per student.

Drumroll, please!  That means a grand total of 118 students have read 277 books.  Wow!  That’s an average of 2.3 books per student.  I can’t wait to see what we read all year long.

What have been your favorite books so far this year?

image

I’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by Ruth and Stacey over at Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

8 Comments on We’re off and reading!

  1. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    September 19, 2013 at 6:58 am (11 years ago)

    Amazing! It’s so awesome what a difference a motivated, reading teacher makes to get kids excited about books.

    So far I’ve loved Sidekicked, The Real Boy, Guys Read: Other Worlds, Dream Thieves…. it’s been a fabulous year.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 19, 2013 at 11:24 am (11 years ago)

      I just ordered The Dream Thieves…I can’t wait to read it. I’ve been eyeing The Real Boy, but don’t have it yet.

      Reply
  2. Deb Day
    September 18, 2013 at 8:04 am (11 years ago)

    What a great start. I’m having my freshmen read the first 10 minutes of class every day and we’re recording our pages read. We may have to go back and figure out how many books we’ve read too!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 18, 2013 at 12:57 pm (11 years ago)

      We track our pages in class, too. (Thank you, Penny Kittle!) I love seeing the numbers and the excitement grow through the year.

      Reply
  3. Maureen
    September 17, 2013 at 9:37 pm (11 years ago)

    Very impressive statistics! Your students are going to set amazing reading records this year!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 18, 2013 at 5:37 am (11 years ago)

      Thanks!

      Reply
  4. Amy Rudd
    September 17, 2013 at 9:01 pm (11 years ago)

    Kay,
    Congrats to your readers. Very exciting to hear how they are all off to a great start-way to encourage them!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      September 17, 2013 at 9:10 pm (11 years ago)

      Thanks! I love seeing their excitement over books grow as the year goes on.

      Reply

Leave a Reply