How’s My Summer Reading Going?

Remember that huge stack of books I brought home to read over the summer?  Yep, this one right here?

image

I knew when I stacked them up that there were not enough days in my summer to read them all, even if I did manage to keep up with #bookaday.  I was afraid to count them, but even a cursory glance assured me there would be books left in the TBR pile once school started.  As I look at the box of books, I wonder if I’ve made any progress at all.

Since I’m also taking part in the Making Learning Connected MOOC, I decided to try creating my first stop motion video to show my progress.  I had wanted to try this techonology tool, but didn’t have a clue as to what story I could tell through this media.  The guy on the JellyCam website had a cute story about a banana growing out of his head to show how easy it is to create a video, but I didn’t have any clever ideas like that.

I could tell a story about my summer reading for the month of June.  I was surprised that I finished 31 books.  Three of them were audio books that didn’t make the video.  I found it pretty easy to create, but I need to practice lining up each shot so the frames don’t jump around so much.  I had thought about making signs for each pile for “To Be Read” and “Read,” but forgot until after I had shot all the pictures.  Figuring out how to add music would be nice, too.  I used the free version of the iMotionHD app to create this video.  It was simple to figure out, create, and share the video.  I’m wondering why I waited so long to try it out.

Now I’m wondering how I can share this tool with my students and connect it with their literacy learning.  It is one way to share stories.  Students could introduce themselves with a story, animate an original story they’ve written, create a book trailer for a book they’ve read.

Next up, I’d like to try out some of the Stick Motion apps where you can draw the figures (stick people, of course) for stop motion animation.

imageLife Challenge sponsored by Ruth and Stacey over at Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

12 Comments on How’s My Summer Reading Going?

  1. elsie
    July 2, 2013 at 7:58 pm (11 years ago)

    We never stop learning and trying new things. By the end of the summer, you may be making full length motion pictures. What a great start!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 2, 2013 at 8:35 pm (11 years ago)

      Well, I don’t know about full-length movies, but I will have many more tools at my fingertips!

      Reply
  2. Deb
    July 2, 2013 at 12:30 pm (11 years ago)

    Thank you for adding to my technology list of things to learn. Very creative.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 2, 2013 at 1:02 pm (11 years ago)

      And it’s quite easy! Have fun trying it out.

      Reply
  3. Robin
    July 2, 2013 at 10:13 am (11 years ago)

    What a great video! I can imagine showing this to students in the fall as a way of showing what you did over the summer. Imagine what those stacks would look like if you did this again in August for the whole summer of reading! Very cool! Thanks for sharing and for making me believe I could try it out too! Now…what will my topic be?

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 2, 2013 at 12:10 pm (11 years ago)

      Thanks! I don’t know if I could stack the books that high! My piles already wanted to topple, but I do think it would be a fun way for students to show what they’ve read as well.

      Reply
  4. dogtrax
    July 2, 2013 at 9:46 am (11 years ago)

    Glad you jumped in. I added it into the MOOC Stopmotion Playlist I am developing.
    Kevin

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 2, 2013 at 12:09 pm (11 years ago)

      Thanks, Kevin. I’ll go check out the other videos and be inspired by everyone’s creativity!

      Reply
  5. Tara Smith
    July 2, 2013 at 8:44 am (11 years ago)

    Very, very, cool – and I love the response you made to Bonnie’s comment, the more you experiment with technology, the more yuou discover yourself capable of. I can’t wait to see where this leads you.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 2, 2013 at 9:36 am (11 years ago)

      Thanks! I’m having a lot of fun experimenting and connecting with other learners. I can’t wait to share what I’m learning with my students in the fall.

      Reply
  6. Bonnie K
    July 2, 2013 at 8:09 am (11 years ago)

    So cool to read your post this morning. I’ve been lurking on the CLMOOC and I want to create a stop action video. I’m taking your advice and grabbing at that app. 🙂
    Bonnie

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      July 2, 2013 at 8:18 am (11 years ago)

      I was suprised by how easy it was to do. Then once I finished, I was surprised by how much more I could have done and still have to learn.

      Reply

Leave a Reply