Why I Stay

Friday night while I was browsing Facebook, I saw this video shared by author Gae Polisner.  Teacher Beth Shaum created the video and her blog to let teachers’ voices be heard.  In a time when nearly half of new teachers leave the profession within the first five years and in a time when more and more veteran teachers are publicly sharing their resignation letters, Shaum invites teachers to share why they choose to stay in education.  I am honored to know several of the teachers through their blogs and Twitter.  I have enjoyed reading their reflections on why they stay in the classroom and want to add my voice as well.

I grew up playing school with my dolls and dreamed of being an English teacher like my grandmother.  Once I began college, I discovered many more opportunities.  I kept the degree in English, but did not pursue education.  After various jobs in mission and not-for-profits, I found myself called back to teaching.  I returned to school to earn a second Bachelor’s degree in elementary education and a Master’s degree in English.  I’ve been teaching middle school language arts for the past fourteen years.  I continually work to be the best teacher I can be and to learn more.  I devour professional development books and attend conferences.  I am a part of the National Writing Project through IUSWP and have even presented at conferences.  I have found my people–passionate teachers and book-lovers–through my PLN on Twitter.

I love teaching, but after the past several years of hearing the constant barrage of teacher-bashing and seeing laws passes that undermine public education, I have questioned my decision to stay in the classroom.  If people do want to attract and keep dynamic, passionate teachers in the classroom, the first step is to change the discourse to one that respects and values teachers rather than one that belittles them.

Here is why I stay:

  • I want to share with  my students the power of words and stories to change their lives.
  • I want my students to fall in love with reading.
  • I want my students to be able to harness the power of words with their own writing. And yes, I do give a *!@& about their stories.
  • Students tell me, “I read the best book last night, the first book I’ve read on my own.”
  • Students ask, “Have you read…”
  • I teach with some of the most dedicated and hard working people who give generously to our students, school, and community.
  • I’m still learning and want to model lifelong learning for my students.
  • I can share ideas and learn from some of the best people in literacy education thanks to my PLN.
  • Sometimes a student will come back and say, “You inspired me.”
  • My students deserve a teacher who sees them as more than a test score or a collection of data.
  • I love inspiring students to do more than they dreamed possible.
  • I am a teacher.  It is who I am.  I stay for my students.
  • I’m taking part in the weekly Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by Ruth and Stacey over at Two Writing Teachers, where teachers write and share each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slicers. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

    11 Comments on Why I Stay

    1. Jaana
      April 17, 2013 at 7:14 pm (11 years ago)

      Wonderful post! I stay because I want my ELL students to have same opportunities as every one else! My post this week tells one of these stories: http://jaanaswritingblog.blogspot.com/

      Reply
      • Mrs. McGriff
        April 18, 2013 at 6:39 am (11 years ago)

        I love my ELL students. They bring so much to offer with their experiences.

        Reply
    2. Catherine @readingtothecore
      April 16, 2013 at 8:27 pm (11 years ago)

      I love your list and love how many different ways we’ve expressed similar thoughts. Hopefully, our collective voices can begin to change the conversation.

      Reply
      • Mrs. McGriff
        April 16, 2013 at 9:45 pm (11 years ago)

        After reading so many different posts reflecting on this, I realize once again, we are not alone.

        Reply
    3. Stacey
      April 16, 2013 at 4:58 pm (11 years ago)

      I love your list, Kay! Having a student come back and say “You inspired me,” is truly one of the greatest rewards.

      Reply
      • Mrs. McGriff
        April 16, 2013 at 5:02 pm (11 years ago)

        It is one of the best things ever!

        Reply
    4. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
      April 16, 2013 at 6:43 am (11 years ago)

      Love it, Kay! In this climate of bashing, it’s so important to remember the reasons we are here.

      I wrote about my decision to become a teacher today… why I stay will be another day 🙂
      http://www.mariaselke.com/2013/04/why-i-teach.html

      Reply
      • Mrs. McGriff
        April 16, 2013 at 9:37 am (11 years ago)

        And if we don’t speak up, no one else will! I enjoyed your post about why you became a teacher. I share many of the same experiences as you did with people questioning my decision since I was so smart and could do anything.

        Reply

    Leave a Reply