Why I Teach

 

I’m taking part in the Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by Ruth and Stacey over at Two Writing Teachers. I hope to write every day for the month of March and then continue weekly each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slices. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it.

 

Have you ever had one of those days?  It seems like I’ve had several over the last few weeks.  Those days where the boys–and a girl or two–in one class see how many quiet noises they can make before I go over the edge.  They almost had me.  Those days where the lesson plan flops.  Those days where every email adds one more item to the to-do list and every trip to the office mailbox is filled with papers to fill out and return.  It’s on those days I wonder if I make any difference at all.

Then yesterday morning I was reminded that I do make a difference.  One of my girls approached me in the hallway before homeroom with a folded up piece of paper.  It had my name on the front.  As she handed me the note, she assured me that she had tried to use big words just for me.  I have to confess, I might have teared up just a little when I read her note.  Then after homeroom was over, another girl rushed to my room to hand me her note with more big words.

After thanking both girls for their big words of thanks, I tucked both notes safely into my desk drawer with notes from past students and parents.  The next time I have one of those days, I’ll pull out these notes and reread them and remember that I do make a difference, one student at a time.

10 Comments on Why I Teach

  1. Storykeeper
    March 17, 2013 at 12:24 pm (11 years ago)

    Those notes. They are precious. I have many of the days when I fell so stuck and over whelmed. You do make a difference – because you care. Your kids know that.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 17, 2013 at 3:56 pm (11 years ago)

      And it is the caring that matters most. I try to remember that when things threaten to overwhelm me.

      Reply
  2. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    March 17, 2013 at 8:51 am (11 years ago)

    Awww… I’m about to write about one of those great days, too! I have an envelope I keep notes in to remind me of the reasons I teach. You know, the emails I print that a parent sent me or the notes I get from kids who have moved on to middle school and miss me 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 17, 2013 at 8:57 am (11 years ago)

      I tuck mine away in the back of my desk drawer. They keep me going on those tough days.

      Reply
  3. Melanie Meehan
    March 16, 2013 at 10:03 pm (11 years ago)

    It is so true that the little things can pick us way up off the ground. You remind me to write that note that I’ve been meaning to write–you know–the one that will counter the full mailbox, pile of emails, and infinite to-do list. Thank you.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 16, 2013 at 10:41 pm (11 years ago)

      Thank you. I’m glad my post will inspire you to encourage someone else. Come to think of it, I have some of those notes I could write, too.

      Reply
  4. crobertson10210
    March 16, 2013 at 9:25 pm (11 years ago)

    This piece speaks to me. I have had many a day like this too. I also have a little stash of notes, cards & pieces of inspiration to get me through some days. Thanks for sharing & reminding me of this 🙂

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 16, 2013 at 10:38 pm (11 years ago)

      Thank you. Those notes and reminders stashed away help so much to get through the discouraging days. Reread them and remember you make a difference.

      Reply
  5. Carol
    March 16, 2013 at 9:08 pm (11 years ago)

    You beautifully capture the life of a teacher. I especially love these lines, “Those days where every email adds one more item to the to-do list and every trip to the office mailbox is filled with papers to fill out and return.” Some days it feels like the paperwork could kill you! So glad that you had these very important reminders of why we do what we do! Save them in a file for the next yucky week!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 16, 2013 at 10:35 pm (11 years ago)

      Thank you. I think it’s the paperwork that drives me the craziest some days. The notes are tucked away in the desk drawer. Now if I can remember to take them out and read them when I next need them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply