What have I done?

I’m taking part in the Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by Ruth and Stacey over at Two Writing Teachers. I hope to write every day for the month of March and then continue weekly each Tuesday. Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slices. If you’re taking part in the SOL, leave a link to your post. I’d love to read it. 

 

 

 

I went to my first pit rehearsal after school yesterday.  Now I’m wondering what I’ve gotten myself into.   Actually I started wondering that when I picked up the music over the weekend.  I haven’t played my flute in a few years, but I thought I surely could keep up with the high school kids.  Ha!  Maybe I should have remembered a few things….

  • It’s been twenty years since I’ve played regularly.  I did play with elementary, middle and high school bands.  I also played with a flute ensemble through college.  Not so much since then.
  • In the times I have played in the last twenty years, it’s been solo performances.  I might have a piano accompaniment, but the pianist would follow my lead.  Now I have to follow the director and pay attention to how many other instruments?  At least I can follow the clarinets on several songs.  Thank you, clarinets!
  • It’s been at least twenty years since I’ve played notes that high up in the stratosphere.   I can barely see that many lines above the staff with my bifocals.  In case you are wondering, the sound of spit and squeaks is not very musical.

So it was with great fear (well, just a few nerves) that I walked into the high school band room.  Yes, I did get lost quite a few times in the middle of a song, but so did most everyone else.  We even managed to get through one song with the cast singing along.  It was also pretty cool to play with former students who have grown up to bigger and better things.  Best of all, the director assured me that I sounded better than the imaginary flutes from last week.

I’m looking forward to next week’s practice now.

4 Comments on What have I done?

  1. Amy Rudd
    March 16, 2013 at 6:25 am (11 years ago)

    This “sounds” so fun! I played French horn in high school and haven’t touched it since! I am sure you will be fine from the “sound” of things! Enjoy the experience!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 16, 2013 at 7:11 am (11 years ago)

      Thanks for the encouragement. It’s been fun to play with a group again.

      Reply
  2. Carol
    March 15, 2013 at 12:17 am (11 years ago)

    I think this is so, so cool that you are doing this with your daughter! And I bet just a little practice and you will be right back in the swing of things! Happy fluting!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 15, 2013 at 6:35 am (11 years ago)

      I think I’ll be able to get it together by the time of performance. Meanwhile I am having fun playing again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply