World Read Aloud Day…Slice 5

I know, I know…World Read Aloud Day really isn’t until tomorrow, but we’re celebrating all week long.  Last year I read blogs and tweets about classrooms who celebrated WRAD.  It sounded like so much fun.  This year as I read blog posts leading up to tomorrow, I knew I wanted to get in on the action, too.  We are in the middle of state testing this week with topsy-turvy schedules, so I didn’t think I could swing a Skype visit with an author.  We may be celebrating just in our classroom, but we are celebrating.

Three of my classes chose a novel for me to read aloud to them.  One class chose Nightmare by Joan Lowery Nixon.  I had not read this title before (my co-teacher suggested it to them), so I read it over the weekend.  I think they are going to like this creepy mystery where a nightmare becomes all-too-real.  Part of the story is narrated by the unknown killer, and already my students are guessing who it might be.

The other two classes chose Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff.  I had just finished this one when I presented it as one of their choices.  I think they might have been swayed by the fact that I told them I wasn’t sure I could read it without crying.  I do think they will like the story of Hollis Woods.

My last two classes are celebrating a little differently.  Today we scared ourselves silly by listening to an excellent narrator read aloud Edgar Alan Poe’s “The Tell-Tale Heart.”  I overheard snippets of conversation about the story all afternoon in the hallway.  Later this week we are going to share aloud favorite first lines from the books we are reading.   I started off with examples of some of my favorites:  Books of Umber:  Happenstance Found by PW Cantanese, The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman, The Outsiders by SE Hinton.  I ran out of time for more.  I can’t wait to hear what they share.

I struggle to find time to read aloud to my eighth graders.  I know how important it is.  I know from past experience how much their own reading benefits from us sharing a story read aloud together.  But still I struggle to fit it in to the 50 minutes a day we spend together.  I loved watching them listen as I read to them today.  Some students sat on the edge of their seats, leaning closer as if that would get them further into the story.  Others closed their eyes or put their heads down as they imagined the scenes.  Sometimes they listened silently.  Other times someone blurted out a reaction or gasped in surprise.

I’m glad I’m taking the time to read aloud this week.

I’m taking part in the Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by Ruth and Stacey over at Two Writing Teachers.  I hope to write every day for the month of March and then continue weekly each Tuesday.  Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slices.

7 Comments on World Read Aloud Day…Slice 5

  1. Carol
    March 5, 2013 at 11:50 pm (11 years ago)

    Your eighth graders are so lucky to have a teacher who cares enough to read aloud to them. I believe, from the bottom of my heart, that this is one of the most important practices in our elementary classrooms.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 6, 2013 at 7:26 am (11 years ago)

      I am envious of elementary teachers who can read aloud every day. I see the benefit to my students, too.

      Reply
  2. Tenille
    March 5, 2013 at 11:26 pm (11 years ago)

    Gotta say . . . I’m impressed that a middle school teacher is making time to read aloud to her students. The gift you give them each time they get lost in a story is invaluable. I applaud you for spreading book love and modeling what it means to be a voracious reader and thinker. I’m excited about the Skype session we have tomorrow with an author in Connecticut. Can’t wait to share!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 6, 2013 at 7:27 am (11 years ago)

      Thanks! Have fun with your Skype visit tomorrow. I’ve done several with my classes, and it’s awesome!

      Reply
  3. Jaana
    March 5, 2013 at 5:41 pm (11 years ago)

    Meant to write, Ilook forward to reading about your day!

    Reply
  4. Jaana
    March 5, 2013 at 5:39 pm (11 years ago)

    Yeah for World Read Aloud Day!!!!!!! My blog was about tomorrow as well as literacy as a human right! I look foerward reading how your day went!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 5, 2013 at 6:32 pm (11 years ago)

      I am so excited to be part of this this year. I’m already thinking about how I can make next year even better.

      Reply

Leave a Reply