Poems found from book titles…Slice 4

Today begins the first round of our state testing with math testing this morning and tomorrow morning.  Language arts starts Wednesday with the writing prompt.  Since testing can be stressful for students and teachers alike, I am determined to have fun with books this week with my students. We have read and talked and written and thought all year long, so I know they are more than ready. Non-testing class time this week will be about celebrating books and reading.

Today we created book spine poetry.  I have been wanting to do this with my students ever since I first heard about it last spring.  I love the thinking that my students are showing as they stack books to create their poems.  They are also working hard to create quietly to respect students who are testing in the classroom next to us.  I may not have thought through just how difficult quiet might be for a class of 31 very smart, very vocal 8th graders, but they pulled it off.  Enjoy the poems!

 

2 Comments on Poems found from book titles…Slice 4

  1. Nanc
    March 4, 2013 at 7:22 pm (11 years ago)

    Hi…I was having trouble accessing this earlier. I hope I can get through to let you know how much I love this idea. The little ones could make their own book spines…I actually can picture it though a whole building. Awesome

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 4, 2013 at 7:55 pm (11 years ago)

      I’m glad you were able to see it. We had so much fun creating them today.

      Reply

Leave a Reply