Sunday Soup and More…Slice 3

I grew up in a meat and potatoes kind of family.  As a picky eater as a child, I was quite content with the predictable and comforting foods that found their way to the dinner table each week–steak and baked  potatoes, pork chops or fried chicken with mashed potatoes, chicken and noodles, and for variety, chicken and rice casserole.  The most exotic dish that found its way to our table were spaghetti.  The vegetables came from our garden during the summer and were canned or frozen to eat through the rest of the year.

I still love these foods, but I’m grateful for those people in my life who expanded my taste buds.  My Girl Scout leader introduced me to my first taste of Mexican food and stuffed peppers.  Two roommates I had after college introduced me to vegetarian meals and cooking.  Cooking was an even bigger step than exploring new tastes.

I’ve come a long ways from the days when I was a danger in the kitchen.  My mother came home to more than one burned dinner because I had turned the stove burner on and then promptly forgot all about it because I was lost in the pages of a good book.  I also forgot things like adding water to vegetables before turning on the stove.  (Who knew?  I thought the water melted out of the frozen vegetables.)

Now Sunday afternoons are full of good food.  Garlic herb bread is baking in the bread machine.  a Tex-Mex chicken soup is simmering in the crock pot.  All the ingredients are waiting to make my newest favorite recipe–guacamole.  After my husband brought home some avocados from the grocery store a few weeks ago, we needed to figure out what to do with them.  I checked a few recipes online, but recipes are just suggestions, right?  It didn’t take long to come up with the right mix for a highly addictive dip that we love.  I’ve heard that guacamole doesn’t save well, but we haven’t had to worry about leftovers yet.  If you want to try it for yourself, here’s what we enjoy.  There aren’t hard and fast amounts.  After all, a recipe is just a suggestion.  Just mix everything together and enjoy with your favorite chips.

  • Mash an avocado with a fork.
  • Add chopped tomato, onion, and garlic.
  • Mix in lime juice and salt and pepper.
Who knew something so exotic could be so easy?

I’m taking part in the Slice of Life Challenge sponsored by Ruth and Stacey over at Two Writing Teachers.  I hope to write every day for the month of March and then continue weekly each Tuesday.  Join in yourself or head over to check out what’s happening with other slices.

10 Comments on Sunday Soup and More…Slice 3

  1. elsie
    March 3, 2013 at 9:14 pm (11 years ago)

    Mmmm, sounds so good! I love fresh made guacamole. Had the best on the River Walk in San Antonio once.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 3, 2013 at 9:27 pm (11 years ago)

      I would love to try fresh guacaomole in San Antonio. I still can’t believe how easy it is to make.

      Reply
  2. Cathy
    March 3, 2013 at 8:26 pm (11 years ago)

    I love cooking! So glad you have ventured out. Enjoy the journey!!!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 3, 2013 at 8:38 pm (11 years ago)

      I love cooking when I have lots of time. I don’t love so much the dirty dishes waiting for me to clean them up right now!

      Reply
  3. Kathleen gillis
    March 3, 2013 at 8:10 pm (11 years ago)

    Thanks for the inspiration to crack open a new cookbook. I’ve been in a rut!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 3, 2013 at 8:26 pm (11 years ago)

      I know about those ruts. When I get busy with school, it’s easy to fall back on familiar favorites rather than try something new.

      Reply
  4. Carol
    March 3, 2013 at 7:50 pm (11 years ago)

    Yum! Wish you were cooking in my kitchen tonight!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 3, 2013 at 8:02 pm (11 years ago)

      Thanks! The best part is I have soup to take in my lunch for the rest of the week.

      Reply
  5. Stacy
    March 3, 2013 at 7:44 pm (11 years ago)

    Sounds delicious! Wish someone was doing the cooking for me tonight!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 3, 2013 at 8:01 pm (11 years ago)

      Thanks! We love having company for dinner!

      Reply

Leave a Reply