Let’s put things off a little longer (Slice 2)

Today has been all about procrastination.  You know that stack of research papers on my dining room table?  The ones that have been just sitting there for two weeks now?  I have to start grading them, but I am getting so much done by putting them off.

While procrastinating, I’ve cleaned up the kitchen from last night’s dinner (put off for another good thing to do) and this morning’s breakfast, scrubbed the bathroom, started laundry, exercised, and I cooked lunch.  Where did the morning go?  I could even put off grading a little longer by writing my Slice of Life Challenge for today.  But, no, I’m not going to do that.  I’m going to share with you all the exciting things I learn from my students about the young adult authors they researched.  But first I have to take the recycling and shop for groceries–two errands I’ve been putting off for a couple of weeks now!

Did you know….

  • that Neal Shusterman wrote EB White to ask for a sequel to Charlotte’s Web?  White declined to write the sequel, but encouraged Shusterman to keep writing.
  • that Sharon Draper has five college degrees?  Three of them are honorary doctorates.
  • that Mike Lupica plays golf with Tiger Woods?

I do now!  This gets me started.  Now I know I have more to look forward to as read through the rest of the pile.

6 Comments on Let’s put things off a little longer (Slice 2)

  1. dogtrax
    March 3, 2013 at 6:55 am (11 years ago)

    I wonder if knowing you were going to write about what you learned made you read closer? That happens to me. My lens shifts if I know I am reading student work beyond “the grade.”
    Kevin

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 3, 2013 at 8:25 am (11 years ago)

      Knowing I was going to write about what l learned gave me motivation to get started. It did help me read closer, too. I’ve had my students research authors multiple years, but I still learned things I did not know.

      Reply
  2. Nicole F
    March 3, 2013 at 2:06 am (11 years ago)

    If you’re anything like me, I feel like the students have put so much time into their pieces, that I feel I need to give them just as much time and attention when grading … however you need to multiply that by however many students you have and that means hours upon hours of reading papers… but at least you’re doing it in a clean house with your to-do lists all checked off.

    I have found that the more drafts I can read and re-read the less time assessing takes!

    Here’s hoping you can enjoy your Sunday!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 3, 2013 at 8:24 am (11 years ago)

      I do feel the same way, and it takes so long to grade a stack of papers. It does help to have worked with students along the way. Then I can see the progress they’ve made along the way, too/

      Reply
  3. Carol
    March 2, 2013 at 7:27 pm (11 years ago)

    Holy cow! You’ve accomplished a lot today! And learned some interesting things to boot! Who would have thunk Mike Lupica would know Tiger Woods I’ve been putting off bills and working on my taxes and housework all day! I walked the dog and commented on a bunch of slices but have not been nearly as productive as you were!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 2, 2013 at 8:21 pm (11 years ago)

      For some reason I can be very productive when I’m procrastinating. Maybe it makes me feel less guilty!

      Reply

Leave a Reply