Fun on a Friday: The next best book

Where do you find the next book you want to read?  We had some great conversations about that yesterday.  Check out the sticky note groups on the chalkboard:

 

In case you can’t read what’s on the sticky notes, here are the ideas we collected and grouped:

  • friends (by far the biggest source–Katie S, Olivia M, Brendan S, and Tylor B got special mentions)
  • teachers (Mrs. McGriff, Mrs. Marsh, and Miss Bowman, in particular)
  • library or bookstore shelves (Can you judge a book by its cover?  Should you?)
  • online places (Amazon/Kindle, GoodReads, iBook, WattPad, Blog Buddies)

I never worry about what to read next.  The way my TBR (to be read) piles are stacking up, I can never die. I will never be able to read them all, and I keep adding more.  The suggestions come from everywhere–my students, The Nerdy Book Club, #titletalk on Twitter, GoodReads, award lists like the Young HoosierNewbery, Morris, and Printz, and YALSA nonfiction awards.

Now here is one of my favorite authors, John Green, with more reading recommendations for you:

What are you waiting for? Go find the next best book and read!

Leave a Reply