I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder

I had been hearing good things about I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder, but it wasn’t until I bought it that I realized it is a novel in verse.  That just made it all the better and instantly moved it up to the top of my TBR pile.  I love novels in verse, and so do many of my students.

The story opens with Ava sitting through the funeral of Jackson, the first boy she ever loved.  Not only is she is devastated by his death,but she also blames herself for it.  Little by little, the short poems on each page reveal more and more of Ava’s story–her grief, her guilt, her indecision.

Then Ava begins to sense Jackson’s presence in her house.  At first its just a feeling of cold or a glimpse in a mirror.  Then Jackson begins to enter her thoughts and leave her messages by turning on lights or slamming doors.  How can Ava go on with life when her dead boyfriend is still hanging on to hers?

I loved this romantic ghost story and can’t wait to hear what my students think about it.

Leave a Reply