September Books Read

137) The Desperado Who Saved Baseball by John Ritter – I enjoyed this tall tale of a prequel to The Boy Who Saved Baseball

138) The Crossing: How  George Washington Saved the American Revolution by Jim Murphy – I just thought I knew about George Washington

139)  Drama by Raina Telgemeier:  I loved this graphic novel and can’t wait to share it

140) Cleopatra’s Moon by Vicky Alvear Schecter – a fascinating look at free will in ancient Rome

141)  The Books of Umber:  Happenstance Found by PW Cantanese – much better than the cover indicated

142) Blank Confession by Pete Hautman – a student recommended this title, and I loved it!

143) Rush for the Gold by John Feinstein – my favorite Stevie and Susan Carol mystery yet!

144) Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson – a boy finds his voice through poetry

145)  The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi – definitely a fairy tale for the modern world and beyond

146) Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai – beautiful poetry captures a story of hope and courage

147) Peeled by Joan Bauer – ghosts and an evil plot unmasked by high school journalists–loved it!

I’m just a few books behind my goal of reading 200 books this year.  With fall break, Thanksgiving, and Christmas break still to come with book-a-day challenges, I think I will make it.  It’s hard to pick a few favorites when I’ve read so many good books, but I’ll try.  I loved Drama and Peeled.  I have to agree with the student who recommended Blank ConfessionHappenstance Found was much better than I expected from the cover.  Rush for the Gold is my favorite Feinstein novel so far.

What are your favorite reads for this past month?

Leave a Reply