Fun on a Friday: Fahrenheit 451

With the popular success of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, dystopian literature is on the top of many TBR piles.  But dystopian literature is not new.  Writers have been imagining terrible futures for a long time.  I remember reading George Orwell’s 1984 in high school back in the dark ages of the 1980’s.  Even then I wondered whether the real 1984 would be as bleak as Orwell’s predictions even while I squirmed at the similarities my teenage brain could already pick out.  Doublespeak and revisionist history anyone?

I had the same sensation when I first read Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451.  Even though firefighter’s don’t burn books (oh wait, some people do burn books they don’t like), have you noticed people distracting themselves from the world of ideas and nature with large screens filled with mindless entertainment?  John Green gives his take on Fahrenheit 451 in the video below.  If you’re intrigued, I dare you to read Fahrenheit 451 for yourself and join in the conversation.

Then for a real treat, head up to the new Indy Reads bookstore (911 Massachusetts Avenue) Friday evening to meet John at a book reading and signing from 5 – 7 pm.  Not only is Indy Reads a bookstore, but it also community service to promote literacy for all.  How cool!  I planning on heading up there and picking up the last two Green books I haven’t read yet–Looking for Alaska and Will Grayson, Will Grayson.  Maybe I’ll see you there!

Leave a Reply