Making time to write

At the beginning of every summer, time stretches before me with endless opportunity.  Every summer I plan more goals than I could ever possible get done.  All too soon, the summer is winding up, and I wonder where the time went.  What’s on the plan for this summer?  I’m almost done staining the outdoor furnishings (hot tub, porch railings, and swingset).  I’d like to paint a “rug” on the concrete floor of the porch and refinish some furniture.  I’d like to catch up on my scrapbooks.  (I’m only two years behind!) Of course, I’m on board for #bookaday, but hopelessly behind on book reviews for this blog.

The most exciting thing I want to do this summer is to write, and the perfect opportunity came up to provide encouragement and motivation with Teacher’s Write, sponsored by Kate Messner, Gae Polisner, and Jen Vincent.  So far over 600 teachers have signed up to walk the walk and write, just like we ask our students to do.  Today’s assignment is to make a plan for writing for the summer and through the school year.  How appropriate since I have let the first week of summer vacation slip through my fingers without writing (except for Twitter and Facebook updates and book reviews).  I know I have the time to write if I make time to write.

1.  What can I cut from my schedule to make time for writing?  I can not check Facebook, Twitter, blogs, and email all the time.   I also spend a lot of my time chauferring my daughter around and waiting on her.  Instead of taking along my book to read, I can take my notebook and write.  That’s what I plan to do today.

2.  When and how long do I plan to write each day?  This summer, I plan to write after lunch (that’s the time of day with the fewest scheduled activities) for an hour.  Once school starts, I’ll go back to Laurie Halse Anderson’s 15 minutes a day plan.  I did it one August, including the week on a mission trip and the beginning of school.  Fifteen minutes a day is doable once the crazy school schedule begins.

3. Where will I usually write?  My favorite writing place at home is upstairs in our living room.  There’s no television to provide distraction, and the wireless is weak, too.  I will also take my notebook with me when I know I’ll have a chunk of time to spend waiting.

4.  Who will I tell about my plans?  I’ve shared with my family about my writing plans.  I’m also telling all of you, and will let you know how it goes.

A couple of summers ago, I took up a challenge from my students and started writing a novel.  It’s a telling of Little Ride Riding Hood.  I wrote hard through the summer and even kept up for 15-minutes-a-day through August.  Then I quit working on it because I didn’t have time.  At least that’s what I told myself.  Instead, I didn’t make time because I was afraid.  I have some good parts in my writing.  I have some truly awful parts, too.  But the biggest problem is that the whole thing is a mess, and I have no idea where to go next.  This summer I’m not letting my fear stand in my way.  Today I am digging out that WIP and digging back in.  Now, I’m off to guest author Jo Knowles’ blog for a Monday Morning Warm-up.

2 Comments on Making time to write

  1. Shannon Clark
    June 4, 2012 at 5:51 pm (12 years ago)

    Oh, my! Writing is one of my least fun things to do. I prefer to let other people make their fingers bleed and I just get to enjoy reading their writing! 🙂

    Good luck with the writing plan. I am with you on #bookaday, blog posts, facebook, and twitter! 🙂

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      June 5, 2012 at 8:51 am (12 years ago)

      It is definitely easier to read, but I’m excited to try it myself. I do better appreciate the work that went into my favorite books. See you on Twitter with #bookaday.

      Reply

Leave a Reply