Spring into a good book!

Here’s the deal. You can order great books through Scholastic. Sometimes they even give you a great deal. (Always check out the $1 book on the front page.) An even better deal, the more books you order, the more free books I can get for our classroom library. There are two ways to order:

1) Fill out the paper form and bring it with your money (checks made out to Scholastic) by Friday, December 2.

2) Order online at Scholastic (for parents only). On the parent page, click the “REGISTER” button under “First time here,” then register for your own user name and password. When prompted, enter the one-time activation code code (GPBPV). This code ensures that your orders are sent to me. Select the books you want from over 500 titles. Take advantage of on-line only discounts and specials. SEND your order to me on-line. I will deliver the books in class.

Here are some of my favorites from the March book order:

  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer – Yes, Cinderella is a cyborg
  • Close to Famous by Joan Bauer – this writer will make you laugh out loud and then break your heart
  • The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – find out what the buzz is all about
  • The Chronicles of Vladmir Todd and First Kill by Heather Brewer – vampires that definitely don’t sparkle
  • The Roar and The Whisper by Emma Clayton – another dystopian
  • The Forest of Hands and Teeth and The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan – I didn’t think I liked zombie stories until I read these
  • The Heist Society by Ally Carter – live the life of a famous thief without the risk of getting caught
  • The Scorpio Races  by Maggie Stiefvater- these horses will chew you up and spit you out.  Are you brave enough to race?
  • Legend by Marie Lu – I’ve been hearing good things about this dystopian novel
  • Night by Elie Wiesel – a classic memoir from the Holocaust
As always, let me know which titles you want to read.  I might be able to get them for our classroom library!

Leave a Reply