February books read

19) After Ever After by Jordan Sonneblick – I laughed until I cried and then cried some more.
20) Ghosts of War: The True Story of a 19-Year-Old GI  by Ryan Smith – one of my students donated this one to my classroom library.  I can’t wait to share the sections about the power of literature, both reading and writing
21) Attack of the Vampire Weenies by David Lubar – I need a break with some light humer & Lubar delivered
22) The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler
23) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – Oh.  WOW.  Oh.  WOW.
24) Arana:  The Heart of the Spider by Fiona Avery – a graphic novel for superhero fans
25) The Lightning Thief (Rick Riordan) Graphic Novel adapted by Robert Venditti – pictures and dialogue move the story along
26) People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks – even better than I expected–stories within stories, all surrounding the beautifully illustrated Sarajevo Haggadah
27) Having a Mary Spirit by Joanna Weaver – finally finished this one after picking it up and putting it down throughout the past year
28) Make Lemonade by Virginia Euwer Wolff – a novel in verse that packs a punch
29) The Death Cure by James Dashner – I’m still thinking about what I think of the conclusion to this series.  It will be a hit in my classroom, though

6 Comments on February books read

  1. Miss K
    March 2, 2012 at 10:35 am (12 years ago)

    Jordan Sonnenblick has a new book out this month, called Curveball: The Year I Lost My Grip. It’s about baseball and Alzheimer’s, and it’s excellent.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 2, 2012 at 12:57 pm (12 years ago)

      I heard about it! If it’s even half as good as the others, I will love it!

      Reply
  2. Anya
    March 2, 2012 at 6:19 am (12 years ago)

    lovely blog to read! I suggest everybody to read the blog regularly.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 3, 2012 at 9:46 am (12 years ago)

      Thanks.

      Reply
  3. GG-HeatherFeiles#15
    March 1, 2012 at 1:49 pm (12 years ago)

    Mrs. McGriff do you know if you or the library has either Gym Candy or Things Change? Sorry it has nothing to do with this post but I dont know how to just leave a comment.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      March 1, 2012 at 1:54 pm (12 years ago)

      I have Gym Candy, but it’s checked out. The library has several copies and so do Mrs. Marsh and Mrs. Franks. I don’t have Things Change, and we can check the library tomorrow. It does sound like a good book!

      Reply

Leave a Reply