It’s a sweet surprise!

medusa girlsToday I am one of 100 blogs across the blogosphere who gets to reveal the cover for Tera Lynn Child’s newest trilogy about three descendents of Medusa.  Isn’t it lovely?  Here’s the teaser found on the bookmarks from the publisher: 

Three teenage descendants of Medusa, the once-beautiful gorgon maligned by myth, must reunite and embrace their fates in a world where monsters lurk in plain sight.  You can find out about the three teen beauties–Grace, Gretchen, and Greer–by checking out the character collages Tera Lynn Childs created at the Books, Boys, and Buzz blog.

Sweet Venom is coming to bookstore near you in October 2011.  But while you wait for its release, you can join in the anticipation by checking out these sites:

bookmarksYes, there’s more!  I have signed bookmarks to give away in my blog’s very first swag sweepstakes!  Actually, I don’t have the bookmarks yet, but I have been assured they are in the mail.  If you would like to enter to win one for yourself, leave me a comment telling me why you want to read this book.  I need your comment by midnight on Friday.  This contest is open to US residents only.  If you are not a student in my class, let me know your email so I can contact you to get an address to send the bookmark to.  I will choose a comment with some sort of random selector–computerized if I can figure out how to do it.  Otherwise, the names go on slips and paper to be drawn out of a hat!

36 Comments on It’s a sweet surprise!

  1. 15mistinahjcms6
    February 18, 2011 at 2:56 pm (13 years ago)

    I would like to have one of these book marks cause when this book series comes out I will toldly read them and I know I’ll love them. I really love Medusa and Greek stories. Oh I want to read “Sweet Venom” so bad!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 18, 2011 at 3:11 pm (13 years ago)

      Me, too!

      Reply
  2. Devin K
    February 18, 2011 at 9:17 am (13 years ago)

    I would like to recieve one of these signed bookmarks beacause I would like to explore into the realm of greek mythology, and I think I would enjoy the new experience. I also love signed memorobelia, in fact, I have gotten a signed book from the author from a book called “The Swords of the Six” and i think it’s a good experience to hold a piece that was signed by an ACTUAL AUTHOR. It is such a rush! Thanks.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 18, 2011 at 12:12 pm (13 years ago)

      IT is a rush! You saw how excited I was this morning–and I just learned I won a poster from the Breathless Reads Tour signed by all the authors featured!

      Reply
  3. 15adamdojcms3
    February 16, 2011 at 11:27 am (13 years ago)

    I would like to read this book because I like greek mythology plus I also like free stuff

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 16, 2011 at 12:41 pm (13 years ago)

      Free stuff is always good. I’ve won three free books this year from entering blog contests!

      Reply
    • 15nealnjcms4
      February 16, 2011 at 12:51 pm (13 years ago)

      greek mytologyh is awsome

      Reply
      • Mrs. McGriff
        February 18, 2011 at 12:13 pm (13 years ago)

        I think all mythology is awesome! I love the number of books coming out now that draw on mythology.

        Reply
  4. 15emilydjcms5
    February 16, 2011 at 9:40 am (13 years ago)

    It reminds me of percy Jackson so I would like to look into Medusa. I think it would be neat to read books that have to do with what the greeks believed whether it is true or not.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 16, 2011 at 12:43 pm (13 years ago)

      It does sound a little like Percy Jackson. Tera Lynn Childs has another series with descendents of Greek gods. Those books are Oh.My.Gods and Goddess Boot Camp. I’ll release them into the classroom as I read them. They’re on the top of my TBR pile on my desk.

      Reply
  5. michelle
    February 15, 2011 at 2:49 pm (13 years ago)

    I would absolutely LOVE to read this book.It seems like it would be fascinating to read about the descendants of medusa.Since the middle of seventh grade i’ve wanted to grow up and be a greek mythologist.I find it interesting that people thought that these “gods” were real and controled the weather and the seasons and everything else.And thats why I would LOVE to read this book!!!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 2:50 pm (13 years ago)

      It does sound good, doesn’t it? There are lots of other books that play on Greek mythology to read while you wait.

      Reply
  6. (MajorAfro)Hank
    February 15, 2011 at 2:39 pm (13 years ago)

    i would like to read that book because i am currently bored with the books im reading grounded like any mythology and i think it would be funny if the desendents to turn people into stone

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 2:48 pm (13 years ago)

      I don’t know if they have that ability or not. While you wait for this one, check out Neal Shusterman’s Dread Locks.

      Reply
  7. 15emilysjcms5
    February 15, 2011 at 1:58 pm (13 years ago)

    I think this would be a really good book and I would love to read it and I like greek mythology.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 2:49 pm (13 years ago)

      I have her Oh. My. Gods. and Goddess Boot Camp on my desk on my TBR pile. I’ll pass them on once I read them. They’re moving to the top!

      Reply
  8. MiCkEy BrYaNt!!! XD
    February 15, 2011 at 1:07 pm (13 years ago)

    i would like to rread this book because i absolutely LOVE mythology! i like how the people on ancient greece came up with these awesome theroies! i love medusa too! and plus, i havnt read a good book since the wilight series… 🙁 i also like how the power puff girls made sudusa! i think its really funny! my family doesnt have much money right now, so it would be really hard to find this book. The author sounds like a really good story writer, so i would love to read her other books, too!

    Reply
    • (MajorAfro)Hank
      February 15, 2011 at 2:47 pm (13 years ago)

      whats a wilight and a sudusa

      Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 2:51 pm (13 years ago)

      The good news is you don’t have to have a lot of money to find and enjoy good books–check out the library in my room, the school library, and the public library! You can read books for free!

      Reply
  9. 15nealnjcms4
    February 15, 2011 at 12:58 pm (13 years ago)

    well i am a fan of greek mythology and all othe kinds infact if i could that would be i would read so i mwopuld very much like to read this book and it sounds amazing beracuse they dont make very many muedusa books

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 2:52 pm (13 years ago)

      The only other Medusa book I know of is Neal Shusterman’s Dread Locks. She does make guest appearances in other stories, though.

      Reply
  10. 15kylekjcms4
    February 15, 2011 at 10:25 am (13 years ago)

    i dont understand any of the big words you used

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 11:27 am (13 years ago)

      Which big words?

      Reply
  11. Harrison
    February 15, 2011 at 10:24 am (13 years ago)

    I would like to read this book because I like history. Mythology is near the top of the list for my favorite subject in history. This author, so I’ve been told, writes a lot of books about mythology, and that is what spikes my intrest. I also think it would be cool to read a book with a bookmark that is related to the book.
    I also like science and it intreges me to know more about how people could be turned to stone, and maybe I could learn more about that. I am pretty sure that it is impossable because stone weights more than a person, and in science we learned that weight does not change when elements change.
    Maybe it needs a controlded enviorment or maybe it is mass, and in that case that would explain it, but I still would like to read this book to make sure I learn as much as I can. So please coseter my entry.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 11:26 am (13 years ago)

      I told Mr. Fairchild about your great science connections!

      Reply
    • Mr. Fairchild
      February 19, 2011 at 10:49 am (13 years ago)

      Yes! Harrison, I’m impressed with the comments about using science to explain the myths. Mass cannot be created or destroyed. Great investigating and problem solving!

      Reply
  12. The Muffin Man
    February 15, 2011 at 10:14 am (13 years ago)

    Because I like autographed material that is worth money.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 10:17 am (13 years ago)

      So that means you need to leave me an autographed piece of writing so I can sell it on eBay when you make it big!

      Reply
      • The Muffin Man
        February 15, 2011 at 10:28 am (13 years ago)

        You know it

        Reply
      • The Muffin Man
        February 15, 2011 at 10:29 am (13 years ago)

        Ha! just kidding. Medusa is an awesome person and I am curious about Medusa’s ancestors and if they have the same power.

        Reply
  13. 15kendallbjcms2
    February 15, 2011 at 10:09 am (13 years ago)

    this book sounds like a good book i think i might want to read it . when it goesin stores . did she just finish writting this book yesterday lol .

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 10:16 am (13 years ago)

      Actually, she finished writing it quite a while ago. It’s a long process to get a book published.

      Reply
  14. 15briannasjcms2
    February 15, 2011 at 10:05 am (13 years ago)

    I would like to read this book because it seems so interesting and it brings back old histiry so I would like to enter the contest!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 10:16 am (13 years ago)

      I think she’s going to give a new twist on Medusa, too.

      Reply
  15. Marsha Ratzel
    February 15, 2011 at 8:50 am (13 years ago)

    Dear Mrs. M,
    WOW….that is very exciting that you were picked to do this. How did you get this chance? I would think your students would be very excited to see something like this.

    Congrautlations.

    marsha

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      February 15, 2011 at 10:02 am (13 years ago)

      Marsha,
      I’ve been following Tera Lynn’s blog for a while. She’s great about working with readers to publicize her books. I’m excited for my very first giveaway!

      Reply

Leave a Reply