Interview with a blog

I’m taking part in the teacher blogging challenge sponsored by edublogs over the next few weeks, so you may see some random posts as I try out some new things.  This week’s challenge is to interview my blog for Kickstart Activity 1 – Down Blog’s Memory Lane .  Keep reading to get to know my blog better.  Here’s a snapshot:

 Wordle: blog challenge post

ME:  What’s your name, blog? 

BLOG:  Mrs. McGriff’s Reading Blog.  I know it’s pretty bland, but it’s what I’m all about–reading, reading, and more reading with a little writing thrown in.

ME:  I guess that tells us what to expect from you.  What else can we find on you?

BLOG:  Obviously, you’ll find lots of books on my blog.  Sometimes you’ll find videos about books.  There are links to websites about books, and to people who write books.  Occasionally, you’ll find random thoughts as well about almost anything.  Oh yeah, you can always find class assignments for the week at the top of the page. 

ME:  What’s with the white dots that keep floating across the page?

BLOG:  Don’t you know–it’s snowing on me.  It is winter after all.

ME:  How long have you been around?

BLOG:  I’ve been out here for several years.  I don’t keep track of my birthdays any more, but I do keep track of where people drop in from. 

ME:  Where do people come from when the visit you?

BLOG:  Check out the dots on the map.  Most visitors are from here in the US, but there are visitors from all over the world.  There are a few more every day.

ME:  Have you had any special visitors?

BLOG:  I have lots of parents and students drop by.  I’ve even had a few writers stop by to leave comments or even write a guest post.

ME:  How did you get your start on the web?

BLOG:  I started out as a result of a workshop.  Before I knew it I was sharing class assignments.  Then the books took over.  Now you can find a little bit of everything.   

ME:  What are your favorite parts of being a blog?

BLOG:  I love it when people drop by and tell me what they are thinking.  Leave me a comment.  It’s easy.  Just click and fill out the form. 

ME:  What’s with the word picture in this post?

BLOG:  That’s from Wordle.  I pasted in the text from this blog on their website, and it created the cool word picture.  The bigger the word, the more often it appears in the post.

ME:  Pretty cool.  I see there’s a link on the side to get to Wordle.  Do you have any other surprises coming up? 

BLOG:  Oh yes.  Drop by tomorrow (1-11) at 11:11 to see what’s happening on the Godspeed and Beth Revis’s new book, Across the Universe.  I promise, you won’t regret it. 

ME:  Thanks a lot, blog.  We’ll be seeing you soon.

10 Comments on Interview with a blog

  1. Luciana
    January 15, 2011 at 10:44 pm (13 years ago)

    What a passion! I find it interesting to find people who are moved by passion, not only for other people, but for habits and pleasure with reading, playing a musical instrument, or a game, singing, dancing, teaching. Isn’t it great!!!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 16, 2011 at 6:26 pm (13 years ago)

      It’s the passion for reading, writing, and teaching that keeps me going!

      Reply
  2. tmallen
    January 11, 2011 at 9:29 pm (13 years ago)

    What a great idea for a blog! I look forward to reading and possibly reflecting as well! I am a technology teacher for an elementary school in Joliet, IL, and I’m always looking for ways to incorporate great books into my lab! I’m in the process of having Kindergarten students narrate a few of their favorite classroom books with Voicethread. They are very excited to hear their own voices – and so am I!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 12, 2011 at 8:42 am (13 years ago)

      I’m glad you like it! Many of the books I reflect on would be great for upper elementary. What is Voicethread? I haven’t heard of it.

      Reply
  3. Janelle Wilson
    January 11, 2011 at 9:45 am (13 years ago)

    I love your response to this challenge. I will be following your blog now, too. I love books! I teach science, and I am always looking for good books of all genres to add to our class library and to use in instruction. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 11, 2011 at 9:59 am (13 years ago)

      I love content teachers who use books! I’m constantly throwing books at our team’s science and social studies teachers. Fortunately, they don’t mind. I can’t wait to see how you use your blog.

      Reply
  4. Anne Mirtschin
    January 11, 2011 at 6:58 am (13 years ago)

    Sorry, I must be tired and apologise for not spelling your name correctly. Maybe you could edit the comment for me.

    Reply
  5. Anne Mirtschin
    January 11, 2011 at 6:57 am (13 years ago)

    G’day Mrs Griff
    I have that snow falling all over my blog pages too, but it is summer time here in Australia. However, Queensland is experiencing floods and Western Australia bushfires. Fortunately I live in southern Victoria – a good distance away from those natural disasters.
    I really enjoyed reading your post and the way that you set out the questions and answers. Loved reading about your guest bloggers and the fact that authors sometimes add comments. Shows the power that blogging can bring. Yours is a great example of a niche blog, so keep up the great work.
    Look forward to networking with you over the next 30 days or so.

    Reply
    • Mrs. McGriff
      January 11, 2011 at 9:45 am (13 years ago)

      Thanks for dropping by! I’m glad you’ve escaped the extremely bad weather over there. One day, I’d love to visit Australia, but for now I’m heading over to your blog to check it out. Today it’s snowing outside, too, so I have time to explore some of the different blogs in the competition.

      Reply

1Pingbacks & Trackbacks on Interview with a blog

  1. […] Sue, Shelly, Russell, Paula, Janelle, MrsDuarte, Anne, Marsha, Kevin, Jo, MrsS, MrsMcGriff, Theresa, MrsS, Lydia, Sheri, Luciana, Dorene, […]

Leave a Reply